CPSResources
blank

parental consent

The rules about abortion are different depending on where you live. In some states, you can get an abortion without telling your parents. In others, there are Parental Consent or Parental Notification laws.

  • Parental Consent means that you will need to get permission from a parent if you are under a certain age, usually 18.
  • Parental Notification means that you will have to tell a parent if you are under a certain age, usually 18, but you don't need their permission.

The chart below shows the current situation for each state (last updated on 08/2014). You can find detailed information on your reproductive rights and monthly reports on Parental Consent and Notification laws at the website for the Alan Guttmacher Institute. Click on drop-down menu for "Adolescents" and then select "parental involvement in minors' abortions."

If you are thinking about an abortion and live where there is a Parental Consent/Notification law, it's a good idea to call a clinic in your state (or the Abortion Hotline at 1-800-772-9100) and talk with someone about your options. Usually you can get around telling your parents by going to a clinic in a state without these restrictions or, explaining your situation to a judge (this is called Judicial Bypass). But this can take time, so call right away.

Parental Consent Laws are enacted on a state by state basis. They can be fought state by state too, so get involved. Abortion Rights organizations are listed in Resources under activism.

parental
consent
by
state
Key
PC Parental Consent
PN Parental Notification
NONE No PC or PN are required now
2 Both parents required
State Status Comments
AL Alabama PC
AK Alaska PN  
AZ Arizona PC Need notarized written consent now
AR Arkansas PC Need notarized written consent now
CA California NONE PC law stopped by court
CO Colorado PN  
CT Connecticut NONE  
DE Delaware PN applies only to girls under 16years old; notice may also be to grandparent or counselor; doctor can bypass
DC Washington NONE
FL Florida PN  
GA Georgia PN
HI Hawaii NONE
ID Idaho PC  
IL Illinois PN allows for consent by grandparent instead of parent
IN Indiana PC
IA Iowa PN allows for consent by grandparent instead of parent
KS Kansas PC2 Need notarized written consent from both parents
KY Kentucky PC
LA Louisiana PC Need notarized written consent now
ME Maine NONE  
MD Maryland PN doctor can bypass the PN Law
MA Massachusetts PC
MI Michigan PC
MN Minnesota PN2 Both parents must be notified
MS Mississippi PC2 Both parents must give consent
MO Missouri PC
MT Montana NONE PN & PC laws stopped by court
NE Nebraska PC Need notarized written consent now
NV Nevada NONE PN stopped by court
NH New Hampshire PN  
NJ New Jersey NONE PN law stopped by court
NM New Mexico NONE PC law stopped by court
NY New York NONE  
NC North Carolina PC allows for consent by grandparent instead of parent
ND North Dakota PC2 Both parents must give consent
OH Ohio PC
OK Oklahoma PN & PC Need notarized written consent now
OR Oregon NONE
PA Pennsylvania PC
RI Rhode Island PC
SC South Carolina PC Women under 17 years old; also allows for consent by grandparent or doctor
SD South Dakota PN
TN Tennessee PC
TX Texas PN & PC Need notarized written consent now
UT Utah PN & PC
VA Virginia PN & PC Need notarized written consent now, law allows for consent by grandparent instead of parent
VT Vermont NONE  
WA Washington NONE  
WV West Virginia PN doctor can bypass
WI Wisconsin PC allows other family members over 25 years old to consent; doctor can bypass
WY Wyoming PC & PN

usually you can get around telling your parents

 

| JustSayYes| LetsTalk| Resources| TalkBack| Search| Home| Get CPS Stuff|

The Coalition for Positive Sexuality (CPS) is a grassroots, not-for-profit, activist organization. CPS is funded through donations and grants. Please help us to continue providing teens with candid sex education materials, and this website, by making a tax-deductible donation. Email us to find out how to donate.

Copyright © 1997 Coalition for Positive Sexuality